Skip to content

Terminal Mind Nominated for Philip K. Dick Award

February 26, 2009

Big news about Terminal Mind!  I just got word that my book has been nominated for the Philip K. Dick award, which is given each year by the Philip K. Dick Memorial Trust and the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society for the best original paperback science fiction novel of the year.  Now, as you know, most Big Authors publish their books in hardback first, and so wouldn’t be eligible for this award.  But it’s not limited to first-time authors by any means, and has been won in the past by well-known writers like William Gibson, Tim Powers, Rudy Rucker, Robert Charles Wilson, Stephen Baxter, David Farland, Jack McDevitt, and Kim Stanley Robinson.  So I’m pretty psyched!  But I haven’t won yet…

Being “nominated” means the book was one of the top six vote-getters in the initial round… kind of like it works for the Academy Awards.  The winner won’t be announced until April 10, at a science fiction convention in Seattle (Norwescon).  So keep your fingers crossed!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s